If you have an Instagram account , you may want to deactivate or delete it since you will not be using it for a while or, perhaps, you no longer have interest in using it since it has lost its appeal to you. Be that as it may, we are going to tell you how to deactivate it in a simple way and without having to spend a lot of time to do so, or directly to unsubscribe from the social network.
Keep in mind that you can delete your Instagram account , whatever the reasons you have, but that there is no option to recover it if you regret it. You will lose all the images, videos, featured stories or followers that you have and if you decide to start over again you will do it from scratch completely, with nothing added.
Therefore, we propose two options: you can temporarily deactivate your Instagram account or you can delete an Instagram account permanently. The difference between the two is that if you temporarily deactivate it, nothing will be deleted. You can disappear for a while if you want to take a vacation but when you come back everything will remain as it was.
What data does Instagram save?
It is the first thing we must be aware of. Despite deactivating the account or even removing it, Instagram (and by extension Facebook) will continue to have a good list of data that we have been giving through our “likes”, the ads we have seen, the accounts that we follow, who are our friends, in which Stories and direct we have spent more time, etc. You have to be aware that the business of a social network is advertising and segmentation of this to the letter of the advertisers. And that we are the product so the amount of data and the crossovers between them is virtually infinite.
If we want to have an idea of what we are offering, we just have to access this website and see what type of information we have activated and with permission to be collected. We especially have to see what “Interests for Ads” says, which is still a transcript of our tastes when we are browsing and what we are going to see in the advertisements that accompany the stories and publications on the social network.
Difference between deactivating Instagram and unsubscribing an account
Contrary to what happens with other services that have social content, taking this step on Instagram is not something that forces you to visit the nooks and crannies of the service, which is to be appreciated. In addition, there are two possibilities for the user to decide which is the one that best suits or what they want: temporarily disable the account, which simply hides the profile but does not lose the data in case they want to return and, if this it is not what you do want, it is possible to eliminate completely and definitively the account, which erases videos and photos you have.
In the first case, deactivating the account, our profile will no longer be visible and with it all its contents, in addition to that they will not be able to send us messages and, obviously, we will not be able to use the account. The profile will simply be hidden until we change its status again. And in the event that we delete our account completely, it will be like unsubscribing from the social network to completely eliminate all traces of our activity, and even leaving our @username free after a while.
We are going to explain how to carry out the two processes, so that in this way the path to follow is always clear and, therefore, that it is simply what you have in mind to ask the key question to go one way or another ( not the knowledge of what to do in each case).
Disable or deactivate your Instagram account
In the event that you want to temporarily cancel the account you have in this service, what you have to do is the following in the web browser from your own smartphone. First open the web browser, whatever you like, and go to instagram.com . If you have not done so already, log in with your user account and, when you are inside, select your profile in the lower navigation bar .
Once inside your profile, access, through the upper right corner, by clicking on the gear-shaped icon, to the settings . From the options that will appear in this settings and configuration menu, choose Edit profile . Here all the information about you and your profile will appear, but what interests us is the option in the lower right corner that appears as Temporarily deactivate my account. We will click here and we will have to use our password to confirm our decision and make it effective instantly.
Unsubscribe from your Instagram account
This is the option that eliminates all the information you have in the service, so photos and images will no longer be available. In this case, you must do what we indicate below, and bear in mind that this option is not reversible , although it is possible that for all the information that we have produced within the social network to completely disappear, several days, or even several months.
In this case we can use the mobile or the computer again, as is more comfortable for us, but also through the web browser . And what we will do is access this page , where they will ask us to explain why we want to delete our account, once we have logged in so that, as is evident, the service identifies on which profile we want to carry out the complete deletion. When responding, we will only have to enter the password to confirm our decision.
Once we have confirmed our identity and decision, we will find a last button indicating that the account will be permanently deleted. If we click on it, the procedure will actually be carried out and everything related to our account will be permanently deleted. What is possible that remains in the social network are the messages that we have sent privately, in the conversations that other users have saved in their corresponding user accounts.
Make account private and block comments
As a last resort, if you want to delete your Instagram account because someone is bothering you, you don’t have to do it, since there are privacy and security filters in the photography application that will allow you to keep trolls away and not bother you . You can block comments, make your account private or even report users who are disrespecting you or insulting you publicly or privately in the app.
To block someone on Instagram, follow a few simple steps:
- Use the magnifying glass to find the person
- Tap on the three dots in the upper right corner
- Choose to “Block”
- He will not see anything of yours nor can he write or comment to you
To report you will have to follow the same steps as before: just go to that person’s profile, touch the three dots in the upper right corner and choose Report … Instagram will give you a series of reasons such as violence, nudity, harassment, suicide. Choose the one that you consider to be in breach and tap on “Send complaint”.
You can also make it stop following you if you have a private account. You can continue to see what it says but that person will not see your content or write to you.
- Open the app
- Click on your profile photo in the lower right corner
- Go to Privacy and Account Privacy
- Tap on Private Account and mark your profile as restricted
- See your followers
- Find the person you want to remove
- Tap on the Delete button next to their name
- It will stop seeing your stories and posts in the feed